Volunteer Award Winners

The Boissevain and District Chamber of Commerce held its 5th annual Volunteer Recognition Luncheon on July 10th.

“22 Groups and individuals were nominated in 1 of 7 different categories for the work they do to make Boissevain and the surrounding area a better place to live” says chamber President Bill Dougall. He says volunteering is the backbone of any community and Boissevain is “fortunate to have lots of giving and caring citizens” says Dougall.

The Lifetime Achievement Award went to Earl Patterson. Also nominated were Luella Noble and Marion Glover.

Youth Volunteer nominees were Jeremy Mills, Michelle Coupland and Dustin Coupland. No one is singled out in the youth category.

Brad Peters was named Citizen and Volunteer of the year for his work at the Boissevain Community Theatre. Other nominees were Judy Truax, Norma Evans, Leona Peters and Clayton Fisher.

There were 4 nominees in the Community Group of the Year. The winner was the Farmers Market Board. Other nominees were Boissevain Recycling, Country Four Band, Hospital Auxiliary and Communities in Bloom.

Two nominees in the New Business of the year Category. And like the youth division all nominees are considered the winners. They included 1894 Art Centre and Border Town Metals.

The Established Business of the Year award went to Wright's Auction Service. Also nominated was Mannix Horse Drawn Rides.

Two nominations in the Sports and Recreation division. Murray Dalrymple was named winner and the other nominee was Sally Hoppe.

Chamber President Bill Dougall says the award program has grown significantly over the past 5 years and he is pleased with how the program is working and says the future looks bright for the volunteer recognition program.