The Westman High School Hockey League's championship final is going the distance. Casey Berry made 48 saves as Vincent Massey defeated Neepawa 7-2 Sunday at the Flynn Arena in Brandon. Josh Romanik had two goals and an assist for the Vikings who evened the best-of-three final at a game apiece. Nash Stone, Josh Ransom, Hudson Brosseau, Daylan Duncalfe and Brady Wiltsy also scored for Massey. Cohen Kulbacki had both goals for the Tigers. The deciding third game goes Wednesday night at the Yellowhead Centre. 

Marshall Light scored three times and Josh Lehto added a pair of goals as the Virden Oil Capitals won their regular season finale 10-2 over the Waywayseecappo Wolverines. Bryce Bryant, Joey Bielik, Tyson Draper, Roux Bazin and Maxx Hamelin also scored for the Caps who will face the Neepawa Titans in the opening round of the Manitoba Junior Hockey League playoffs. The other three opening round series feature the OCN Blizzard against the Dauphin Kings; the Steinbach Pistons meet the Niverville Nighthawks and the Portage Terriers take on the Winkler Flyers. 

The Winnipeg Wild will face the Brandon Wheat Kings in the Manitoba U18 AAA Hockey League final. Jacob Armstrong stopped 36 shots as the Wild downed the Winnipeg Thrashers 5-2 and took the best-of-five semifinal three games to one. The Wheat Kings swept the Pembina Valley Hawks in three straight in the other second round series.

The Winnipeg Jets opened their five-game road trip with a 6-1 victory over the Columbus Blue Jackets. Tyler Toffoli had two goals and an assist for Winnipeg. Nikolaj Ehlers, Vladislav Namestnikov, Logan Stanley and Kyle Connor also found the back of the net for the Jets (43-19-5) who won their 20th road game of the season. Connor Hellebuyck made 30 saves. 

Brandon's Kristen Campbell made 17 saves as Toronto shaded Montreal 2-1 in the lone PWHL game. Hannah Miller and Kali Flanagan did the goal scoring as Toronto extended its winning streak to 10 games.  

Ryan Wiebe of Fort Rouge shaded Brayden Calvert of Carberry 4-3 in the final of the Provincial Mixed Curling Championship Sunday in Neepawa. Wiebe, third Shaela Hayward, second Ty Dilello and lead Jennifer Clark-Rouire will represent Manitoba at the 2024 Canadian Championship November 3rd-9th in St. Catherines, Ontario. Shayla Hayward is the first curler in Manitoba history to win three provincial championships in a single season. Hayward captured the U18 championship in January and the U21 championship in February with Keira Krahn, India Young and Rylie Cox. 

Colton & Kadriana Lott won their round robin opener 10-0 over Jessica Zheng & Victor Pietrangelo of Niagra Falls at the Canadian Mixed Doubles Curling Championship in Fredericton, New Brunswick. 

Rachel Homan has a 3-0 record heading into day three at the World Women’s Curling Championship in Sydney, Nova Scotia. Homan, vice-skip Tracy Fleury, second Emma Miskew and lead Sarah Wilkes defeated Tabitha Peterson of the United States 10-6 Sunday. Homan's lone game today is against Marianne Roervik of Norway.