It’s day two of the Provincial Junior Varsity High School Volleyball Championships. Killarney has a 1-1 record at the A/AA girls championship in Flin Flon. The Raiders beat Margaret Barbour of The Pas and lost to St. Paul’s of Elie. Killarney will play its last round robin game against Prairie Mountain. Virden and Neelin girls and Neelin boys are at the AAA championships in Winnipeg. Virden girls will meet Springfield and that winner advances to the quarterfinals. Neelin will face either Stonewall or R.D. Parker of Thompson in the quarterfinals. Neelin boys are 2-0 and will play their final round robin game against St. James.

The Western Hockey League announced that 350 WHL graduate players have been award WHL Scholarships for the 2023-24 academic season. The 2023-24 campaign serves as the 31st year of the WHL Scholarship program. Established on a League-wide basis in 1993-94, nearly 8,000 WHL Scholarships have been awarded representing an investment of over $35 million by WHL clubs. This season, WHL club ownership will contribute in excess of $2.5 million to the 350 WHL graduates utilizing the WHL Scholarship.

Manitoba champion Derrick Anderson defeated Noel Herron of Ontario 7-3 in his first game of the double-knockout playoffs at the Canadian Curling Club Championship at the Assiniboine Memorial Curling Club in Winnipeg. Anderson will face Dan Sherrard of Alberta at 10 a.m. and that winner advances to the semifinals. Anderson, third Justin Hoplock, second Mitch Einarson and lead Chris Sigurdson finished the round robin with a 4-2 record. Manitoba champion Kara Balshaw won her playoff opener 9-1 over Carly Sandwith-Craig of British Columbia. Balshaw will face Abby Burgess of New Brunswick at 1:30 p.m. and that winner moves on to the semifinals. Balshaw, third Heather Carson, second Sandra Carson and lead Cathy Gingera finished the round robin with a 3-3 record.