The defending champions have qualified for the 2012 Strathcona Senior Men's Provincial Curling Championship. Kelly Robertson of Neepawa reeled off five straight wins this past weekend and captured the senior men's berth bonspiel at the Morden Curling Club. Robertson, along with third Doug Armour, second Peter Prokopowich and lead Bob Scales beat Scott Furevick of Fort Rouge 7-6 in the final. Earlier Robertson and company downed Brian Pallister of Fort Garry 8-2; beat Carl German of East St. Paul 8-2; cracked a seven-ender and bounced Clare de Blonde of Fort Rouge 11-3 and then downed Lionel Walz of Pembina 7-1.



CJRB Sports Director Clayton Dreger asked Kelly Robertson, who captured Manitoba's 11th Canadian Senior Men's Championship in 2011, to comment on his team's performance in Morden.



The 2012 Provincial Senior Men's Curling Championship will take place from February 23rd-27th in Beausejour. Robertson, Armour, Prokopowich and Scales will represent Canada at the 2012 World Senior Men's Curling Championship in Kastrup, Denmark from April 14th-21st.